Tag: NYC

Pink Floyd Remix/ Ableton Clinic

Posted on 10/25/12 by DVS*
dvs4

Last week I dropped my dubstep/chillstep rendition of Pink Floyd’s “Us and Them.” It’s clocked in around 4,000 plays in the first week. Thanks for the love!

After 5 weeks of touring the northeast and south, I’m chilin’ in NYC for a bit. On Thurs Nov 1st, I’ll be participating in an Ableton seminar at Tekserve. It will be streaming live on the net. For more info visit: http://shocklee.com/2012/09/nyc-save-the-date-next-ableton-advanced-users-meetup-is-thursday-november-1st/

The Code Minimix/ Manifestation Celebration/ Lightning in a Bottle

Posted on 04/12/12 by DVS*
4) LEAN OVER

My new 5 song ep on Daly City Records titled “The Code,” will be out May 1st. Below is a minimix so you can get a taste of what it’s about. This work is a departure for me, as it showcases a more mysterious and cinematic style of my production, with a west coast flare. Enjoy!

May can’t come soon enough, as I’ll be playing the Manifestation Celebration in Dallas alongside Thievery Corporation, Flying Lotus and many others on Saturday the 5th. Later that month I’ll be at Lightning in a Bottle, just south of Los Angeles, alongside Bassnectar, the Glitch Mob and many more! May will also feature my first show at Irving Plaza (The Fillmore) in NYC, supporting Lotus (5.10), as well as a late night set at Uphoria in upstate New York (5.19).

Thanks for listening- Derek (D.V.S*)

New Facebook Page, Rocky Remix & Winter Tour

Posted on 02/09/12 by DVS*
404600_138452029607815_137714339681584_158879_606311931_n

 

Happy Belated new year.  I bring you a new Facebook Page , a new remix, and new tour.

Like a jazz musician (or house DJ), this year I am beginning to release music and perform under my full name, Derek VanScoten. It seemed appropriate to start a new Facebook page so that people could find me more easily. Throughout the year, this page will containing exclusive access to my new remixes, and originals.  This month I give you my remix of the “Rocky Theme.” In case you missed last months remix of Brooklyn’s own Break Science/ Talib Kweli, you can also find it on the new page.

My Winter Tour 2012 brings me to several new spots in the South, Northeast and West.  It includes dates with Ott, The Polish Ambassador, Eliot Lipp, Nit Grit, the SnowMont Festival, and a co-headlining tour in the Northeast with Philly’s Sonic Spank and Silo Effect. Boo-yah!

Winter Tour 2012

Thu Feb 16 The Canal Club- Richmond, VA w/ Sonic Spank and Silo Effect

Fri Feb 17 Martin’s Downtown- Roanoke, VA w/ SS & SE

Sat Feb 18 Jewish Mother Hilltop- Virginia Beach, VA w/ SS & SE

Wed Feb 22 Arch Street Tavern- Hartford, CT w/ SS

Thu Feb 23 Castaways, Ithaca, NY w/ SS

Friday Feb 24 Snow Barn @ Mount Snow -West Dover, VT w/ SS

Sat Feb 25 Nectars-Burlington, VT w/ SS

Wed Feb 29 The Blockley Pourhouse – Philadelphia, PA w/ Sonic Spank and Elliot Lipp

Thu March 1 River Street Jazz Cafe- Plains, PA w/ SS

Fri March 2 Sullivan Hall- NewYork, NY w/ SS & SE

Wed March 14 Three20South- Breckenridge, CO w/ The Polish Ambassador

Thu March 15 Aggie Theatre- Ft Collins, CO w/ OTT

Fri March 16 Summit Music Hall- Denver w/ OTT and Govinda

Sat March 17 Fox Theatre w/ Polish Ambassador

Sun March 18 Trees- Dallas TX w/ Nit Grit and Two Fresh

Sun April 1 SnowMont- Killington, VT w/ Snoop Dog, Gramatik and tons of others.

————————–

Fall 2011 News!

Posted on 09/03/11 by DVS*

After an amazing summer of playing festivals 13 out of 14 weekends in a row, I’m back in the clubs this fall.

The remainder of “Coming Up For Air’” will drop in late October/ Early November, and be a double album (yes, in an age of singles and ep’s, I’m releasing a double album).

On the tour front: I’ll be hitting several new places, as well as some old favorites. Due to popular demand, I’ve also been added to all 4 nights in Colorado with my man emancipator! I’ll be opening each night, and most likely joining him for parts of his set as well!

Hope to see you at the shows below!!!  -Derek

Fri Sep 23 Sonar- Baltimore, MD,  w/ Heyoka

Fri Sep 30 House of Blues- Dallas TX, w/ Govinda

Fri Oct 7 Red Square- Albany, NY w/ Dirty Paris

Sat Oct 15 MAPS Party- NYC, NY

Sun Oct 16 House of Yes- Brooklyn, NY w/ Marco Benevento, Billy Martin, Damn Right, Adam Wien, & Tucci.

Thurs Oct 20 Putnam Den- Saratoga Springs, NY w/ Third Nature

Sat Oct 22 Lespeshtival @ Kaplan Farm,- Millerton, NY

Tue Oct 25 Music Ecology @ Wonderbar- Allston, MA

Thurs Oct 27 Stone Church- New Market, NH

Sat Oct 29 Community Center for Music and Art- Ithaca, NY w/ Brothers Past & Wobblesauce

Wed  Nov 16 Three20south- Breckenridge, CO  w/ Emancipator

Thu Nov 17 Agave -Avon, CO w/ Emancipator

Fri Nov 18 Aggie Theatre- Fort Collins, CO, w/ Emancipator & Tycho

Sat Nov 19 Summit Music Hall- Denver, CO w/ Emancipator & Tycho

Sun Nov 20 Mountain Sun- Boulder, CO w/ Benny Loco & Paul Basic