Tag: Philly

New Facebook Page, Rocky Remix & Winter Tour

Posted on 02/09/12 by DVS*
404600_138452029607815_137714339681584_158879_606311931_n

 

Happy Belated new year.  I bring you a new Facebook Page , a new remix, and new tour.

Like a jazz musician (or house DJ), this year I am beginning to release music and perform under my full name, Derek VanScoten. It seemed appropriate to start a new Facebook page so that people could find me more easily. Throughout the year, this page will containing exclusive access to my new remixes, and originals.  This month I give you my remix of the “Rocky Theme.” In case you missed last months remix of Brooklyn’s own Break Science/ Talib Kweli, you can also find it on the new page.

My Winter Tour 2012 brings me to several new spots in the South, Northeast and West.  It includes dates with Ott, The Polish Ambassador, Eliot Lipp, Nit Grit, the SnowMont Festival, and a co-headlining tour in the Northeast with Philly’s Sonic Spank and Silo Effect. Boo-yah!

Winter Tour 2012

Thu Feb 16 The Canal Club- Richmond, VA w/ Sonic Spank and Silo Effect

Fri Feb 17 Martin’s Downtown- Roanoke, VA w/ SS & SE

Sat Feb 18 Jewish Mother Hilltop- Virginia Beach, VA w/ SS & SE

Wed Feb 22 Arch Street Tavern- Hartford, CT w/ SS

Thu Feb 23 Castaways, Ithaca, NY w/ SS

Friday Feb 24 Snow Barn @ Mount Snow -West Dover, VT w/ SS

Sat Feb 25 Nectars-Burlington, VT w/ SS

Wed Feb 29 The Blockley Pourhouse – Philadelphia, PA w/ Sonic Spank and Elliot Lipp

Thu March 1 River Street Jazz Cafe- Plains, PA w/ SS

Fri March 2 Sullivan Hall- NewYork, NY w/ SS & SE

Wed March 14 Three20South- Breckenridge, CO w/ The Polish Ambassador

Thu March 15 Aggie Theatre- Ft Collins, CO w/ OTT

Fri March 16 Summit Music Hall- Denver w/ OTT and Govinda

Sat March 17 Fox Theatre w/ Polish Ambassador

Sun March 18 Trees- Dallas TX w/ Nit Grit and Two Fresh

Sun April 1 SnowMont- Killington, VT w/ Snoop Dog, Gramatik and tons of others.

————————–





Remixes, Videos and Shows

Posted on 12/16/11 by DVS*
images

Re:Mixes!!!

I have several remixes coming out on various labels over the next few months. As promised on Facebook last week, here is the first one, my remix of “The End” by The Doors.

  The Doors- “The End” (D.V.S* Remix) by D.V.S* ~Derek VanScoten

Thanks to all the friends that came through and convinced The New Deal to have me as their last opening act ever. This song is an ode to the end of the year, the New Deal’s career, and the Mayan calendar of course.
 
Vide-ohs!

While I was in Denver last month, supporting the new double album, I sat down for an interview with DMTv.  I talked a bit about why I released 30 songs at once, and how I describe my music. They included shots from the Summit Music Hall show that night. 

 
Shows!Shows!Shows!Shows!

Friday Dec 16- Gravitas Records presents Winter Solstice
Hotel Vegas- Austin, TX
 
Sat Dec 17- Pretty Lights Music Showcase
Green Elephant- Dallas TX
 
Fri Dec 30- supporting the New Deal (Phish late-night)
Highline Ballroom- NY, NY
 
Sat Dec 31-  Deathwaltz NYE party
Triumph Brewery- Philadelphia, PA
 
~thanks for listening, downloading the new album, and keeping in touch.